This Best FIFA Football Awards will take place tonight at a glamorous Parisian ceremony hosted, inexplicably, by Jermaine Jenas.

There are many rewards offered for football adventures in 2022. While the best male and female players are awarded important prizes, the best goalkeepers are also awarded and win their own categories. There are awards for the best coaches in the men’s and women’s matches and Puskas Award men and women celebrate the extraordinary goal of the year before the world 11s are announced.

Finally, there is the Fifa Fair Play Award and the Fan Award. The latter has three contenders: Argentina fans for their passionate support in the World Cup; Japanese spectators hailed for cleaning the stadiums after their matches; and a man named Abdullah Alsulmi, who walked from Jeddah across the Arabian desert to Doha for 55 days to watch the Saudi Arabian game in Qatar.

Who will win?

The men’s main reward is almost certainly a short trip home. Lionel MessiThe irony is that for all his brilliance he will almost certainly be going home with his PSG teammate. Kylian Mbappe If only the penalty shootout of the World Cup final had gone the other way.

You could argue that the mainstay of the awards ceremony was completely undermined, given the outcome that was beyond both of their control after taking their penalties, because it’s defined by externally influenced results rather than just their individual performances, but let’s go around that rabbit hole.

Kerim Benzema He is the third nominated player to lead Real Madrid to another Champions League victory, scoring many key goals along the way.

It’s harder to call the female award. Arsenal’s Beth Mead It was phenomenal as England won Euro 2022 at home. Alex Morgan He played a role in the USA winning the Concacaf Championship. Yet Alexia Putellas Given Barcelona’s dominance in Spain last season and their run to the Champions League final, he could take home the award for the second time in a row, despite having been injured for most of 2022.

Emi Martinez And Thibaut Courtois Likely winners of the men’s goalkeeper award – Martinez’ lead role in the World Cup final should give him victory, but he made it to the very last stage to claim the award. very well done. Lyon is always consistent Christian Endler can outrun the UK Mary Earps as the best female goalkeeper.

Lionel Scaloni A sure bet to win the men’s coach award after leading Argentina to the World Cup for the first time in 36 years and Sarina Wiegman The women could very well have taken the prize for planning England’s Euro victory.

The Puskas Prize is always the most subjective and you can argue. Richarlison’s While Brazil’s goal against Serbia was brilliantly scored, it wasn’t even the best goal in the World Cup. against it by Dimitri Payet well-shot shot (shouldn’t win) and amputee in the hop by Marcin Oleksy amazing scissors finish (must win).

You want to consider the above Al Sulmi will win the fan award after the desert journey.

Here are the main award nominees for 2022:

Best FIFA Actor

  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
  • Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain)

Best FIFA Female Player

  • Beth Mead (Arsenal)
  • Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave)
  • Alexia Putellas (Barcelona)

Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper

  • Yassine Bounou (Seville)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
  • Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)

Best FIFA Female Goalkeeper

  • Ann-Katrin Berger (Chelsea)
  • Mary Earps (Manchester United)
  • Christiane Endler (Lyon)

Best FIFA Men’s Coach

  • Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid)
  • Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)
  • Lionel Scaloni (Argentina)

Best FIFA Female Coach

  • Sonia Bompastor (Lyon)
  • Pia Sundhage (Brazil)
  • Sarina Wiegman (England)

Puskas Award

  • Marcin Oleksy (Poland): Warta Poznań – Stal Rzeszów (PZU Amp Futbol Ekstraklasa) (6 November 2022)
  • Dimitri Payet (France): Olympique de Marseille – PAOK Thessaloniki (UEFA European Conference League) (7 April 2022)
  • Richarlison (Brazil): Brazil – Serbia (FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022) (24 November 2022)

And here are the previous winners of the main awards:

Best Male Player

2016 — Cristiano Ronaldo

2017 — Cristiano Ronaldo

2018 — Luka Modric

2019 — Lionel Messi

2020 – Robert Lewandowski

2021 – Robert Lewandowski

Female Best Actress

2016 – Carli Lloyd

2017 – Lieke Martens

2018 — Martha

2019 – Megan Rapinoe

2020 – Lucy Bronze

2021 — Alexia Putellas

how to watch

Viewers in the UK can watch the ceremony live on the BBC from 20:00 BST via the red button or BBC iPlayer.