Chelsea won Champions League for the first time in its history today in 2012.

Losing to Manchester United in the 2008 final, the West London club got lucky for the second time by beating Bayern Munich on penalties after the match ended 1-1 after extra time.

The draw was played at Bayern. Allianz Arena The German side looked like they would use their home advantage after Thomas Müller’s 83rd minute goal brought them to the brink of victory.

But under the direction of Roberto Di Matteo, the Blues returned five minutes later. Didier Drogba He passed Manuel Neuer and headed for Juan Mata’s corner.

Bayern squandered a big chance to regain the advantage in just five minutes of extra time when they saw former Blues winger Arjen Robben save his penalty. Petr Cech After Drogba foul on Franck Ribery.

In the end, nothing could separate the sides at 120 minutes, so – just like in the 2008 final – the trophy would be decided by kicks.

This time, however, the penalty shootout went in Chelsea’s favour, as goalkeeper Cech rejected Ivica Olic before Bastian Schweinsteiger hit the right post, even though Mata failed the first kick.

This allowed Drogba to take the winning penalty and give Chelsea their first Champions League crown.

blues captain John Terry Despite being suspended after the match, he gained notoriety for wearing his full jersey and playing an important role in the celebrations, making him the subject of many jokes.

Chelsea won the competition for the second time in 2021, beating Premier League rivals Manchester City 1-0 at Porto, thanks to a goal from Kai Havertz.