Tue. Dec 6th, 2022
NEW DELHI: New Delhi had an element of surprise when the president and vice president arrived. Indian Olympic AssociationThe (IOA) athletes’ commission was elected here on Tuesday. widely expected Gagan Narang and PV Sindhu would occupy the top two missions. In its place, Meryem Kom elected president and Achanta Sharath Kamal on an interesting occasion as vice-president of the athletes’ commission. Narang and Sindhu were sent IOAhas the right to vote as the representative of the athletes’ commission in the general assembly.
The 10-member athlete commission was elected without voting following the mass withdrawal of the athletes at Monday’s meeting. Apart from Mary, Sharath, Gagan and Sindhu, the other members elected to the athletes’ commission include Mirabai Chanu, Rani Rampal, Bhavani Devi, Bajrang Lal, OP Karhana and Shiva Keshavan. The remaining six members are now looking for ways to place themselves on one of the IOA’s commissions, such as ethics and arbitration, among others. Members of the Athletes’ commission may not compete for the position of holder during the IOA’s elections on 10 December to elect the new executive body.
“As a president, I have a vision to take Indian sport in the right direction and excel in a variety of disciplines to get on the podium at the Olympics. All my team members are all about sharing our ideas with each other to create an experienced and clean environment.” and the transparent sports ecosystem,” Mary Kom told TOI.
Mary Kom and Achanta will have voting rights in the executive council (AK), while the votes of Gagan and Sindhu will be counted in the general assembly. Other athletes’ commission members will not have voting rights. Similarly, the athletes’ commission will be responsible for selecting eight ‘athletes of outstanding merit’ (SOM) who will have voting rights at the general assembly. Gagan, Sindhu and eight SOMs will vote in the election. SOMs will be retired athletes who must not have participated in any competitive sport for at least one year prior to the application date.
“The athletes’ commission will have the power to elect SOMs until November 19. However, it is not the commission’s authority to decide which SOM will run for which officer(s) in the elections. SOMs can nominate their candidacy. Being the office bearers of the IOA have for it,” says Keshavan, a six-time Winter Olympics and four-time Asian champion.
At Tuesday’s meeting, Abhinav Bindra (member of the IOC’s athletes commission) and Sardar Singh (Athletes’ permanent member of OCA) were elected together as two ex officio members in the athletes’ commission. Along with Mirabai, Bhavani, and Sindhu, they attended the meeting at the JLN stadium from afar.