Lionel Messi named the best player of men’s football, won FifaThe flagship award as the game’s top star after leading the Argentina national team to the World Cup in December.

This is the second time he wins the award since Fifa began its separate ceremony in 2016 after its victory three years ago – it was second-placed by Robert Lewandowski last year.

For their heroism in Qatar, he defeated two men, French forwards Karim Benzema and Kylian Mbappe, whose countries were also second in that tournament.

Spanish midfielder Alexia Putellas – widely regarded as the best female player, but has been sidelined since the summer due to an ACL injury – beat opponents including England’s Beth Mead and US star Alex Morgan, which she won a year ago in Best of All. She retained the title of Actress.

The first award on the night went to an English athlete, but the national team and Manchester United goalkeeper Mary Earps was recognized as the best defender in the women’s match.

That wasn’t the only success with the Lionesses as boss. Sarina Wiegman He was awarded the Best Manager award, also won in the men’s match, by Lionel Scaloni, which led Argentina to their first World Cup victory since 1986. Albiceleste celebrated the trio overnight and Emi Martinez won the men’s goalkeeper award.

Still, Wiegman resonated with an emotional speech that highlighted the progress of women’s football and insisted that much more could and should be done.

“It’s incredible to be here right now and celebrate women’s football. Dangers, we also need to take care of,” he said. “Yes, we want to improve, but we need to do the right things. We compete on the court, but off the field we have to work as a team to make it bigger.

“The euros were incredible. The stadiums were packed, Wembley was packed, and there were lots of families in the stadiums and they were all celebrating football. We brought it home, as the British say,” Wiegman said.

“I’ve loved football since I started walking and have seen how the women’s game has evolved and evolved over the years.

“It’s incredible to be here right now and celebrate women’s football around the world. We have heroes in this room, idols of little girls. They have inspiration.”

Hristo Stoichkov presents his award to Sarina Wiegman

(Getty Images)

Meanwhile, the Puskas Award went to Marcin Oleksy for the best goal of the year, beating the likes of Theo Hernandez, Spanish stars Salma Paralluelo and Kylian Mbappe with a World Cup final shot.

Oleksy is a one-legged amputee football player who plays on crutches – the winning goal is a spectacular overhead shot.

Before the main prizes were handed out, the Fifa/Fifpro World XIs of the year were also announced, with four British players assigned to the women’s team following their Euro 2022 victories: Lucy Bronze, Leah Williamson, Kiera Walsh and Beth Mead.

No English players were selected in the Men’s 11, but four players currently in the Premier League were selected.

A number of current and former players were on stage to hand out the awards, including Carli Lloyd, Alessandro del Piero and Hristo Stoichkov.

Also, the night started with the commemoration of Pele, one of the greatest icons of football ever, who passed away in December. Another former Brazilian forward legend Ronaldo presented a special award to Pele’s widow, Marcia Aoki, in recognition of her late husband’s influence and achievements.

Alexia Putellas wins FIFA’s Best Actress award

(AFP via Getty Images)

Complete list of awards

Best Actor Award: Lionel Messi (Argentina)

Best Actress Award: Alexia Putellas (Spain)

Best male trainer: Lionel Scaloni (Argentina)

Best female coach: Sarina Wiegman (England Women)

Best male goalkeeper: Emiliano Martinez (Argentina)

Best female goalkeeper: Mary Earps (England)

Fifa Puskas Award winner: Marcin Oleksy (Poland)

FIFA Fair Play award: Luka Lochoshvili (Georgia)

Fan award: Argentina national team fans

FIFPRO World XI women: Christiane Endler, Lucy Bronze, Mapi Leon, Leah Williamson, Wendie Renard, Alexia Putellas, Keira Walsh, Lena Oberdorf, Alex Morgan, Sam Kerr, Beth Mead

FIFPRO World XI men: Thibaut Courtois, Achraf Hakimi, Joao Cancelo, Virgil van Dijk, Kevin de Bruyne, Luka Modric, Casemiro, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Karim Benzema, Erling Haaland